10
Jul
09

You, me and a little kalbi

One of my favorite things to make for family and friends is kalbi a.k.a. Korean bbq. My mother-in-law taught me how to make her marinade recipe, and it sure does make a difference. I usually keep a batch of this stuff frozen and pull it out whenever we get the hankering. But since the summer began,  I haven’t been able to keep it in stock.  My favorite way to eat it is with some simple white rice, kimchi, and dried seaweed. Add an ice cold Asian beer, like Hite or Kirin Light, and you’ve got a meal fit for a king. Whether you marinade it on your own or get the pre-marinaded kind, use short rib or LA cut, the trick is in the grilling. Make sure you leave it on there long enough to let the sugar in the sauce and fat in the meat caramelize and create a bit of a crust. Oooh, so good!

Kalbi -- gotta get you some!

Kalbi -- gotta get you some!


0 Responses to “You, me and a little kalbi”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


July 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031